2013 Ghastly Award winners announced!


Time for the big reveal folks; this year’s Ghastly Awards have been a real roller-coaster ride for the judges and fans [NOTE: I serve as a part of the Ghastlies.  But I loved ’em long before that.]  But the votes have been tabulated, and the winners have been determined, much rejoicing, etc.!

Gotta say I’m giving tons of love to the fans out there; Afterlife With Archie is a heckuva great read, and I’m glad it won for Best New Series.  Joe Hille, Francesco Francavilla, Clem Robins, Terry Moore…all damn fine comic pros, and I’m psyched about their wins as well.  Especially since 2013 was such a banner year for horror comics, with many great artists, writers and inkers.

Ditto for the world of online comics; I’ve never been shy about my love of Crossed: Wish You Were Here, but I’m glad to see The Last Halloween get the award this year.  Because who doesn’t love to stumble upon something new and awesome to add to the usual round of weekly reads?  “I don’t like new stuff” said nobody, ever.  Or at least nobody I’d like to know.

Read on for the full list o’ winners.  And CONGRATULATIONS to all!

The 2013 Ghastly Award Winners

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2013 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2013. Winners were chosen by the Judges, Comic Book Creators and the Fans. The Ghastly Judicial Panel congratulates all 2013 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2013 Winners are:

Best Ongoing Title:

Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)

Best Mini-Series:

Locke & Key: Omega (IDW Publishing)

Best One-Shot: 

Edgar Allan Poe: The Raven & The Red Death(Dark Horse)

Best New Series
(Fan Voting Decided the Winner):

Afterlife with Archie (Archie Comics)

Best Anthology:

Bloke’s Terrible Tomb of Terror (Independent)

Best OGN:

Hellboy: The Midnight Circus (Dark Horse)

Best Archival Collection: 

Steve Ditko Monsters Vol. 1: Gorgo
(IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)

Best Writer:  

Joe Hill (Locke & Key: Omega)

Best Artist:

Richard Corben
(Edgar Allan Poe’s: The Raven and the Red Death)

Best Inker:

Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)

Best Letterer:

Clem Robins
(B.P.R.D., Baltimore, Hellboy in Hell, The Strain)

Best Colorist:

Francesco Francavilla (Afterlife with Archie)

Best Web Comic:

The Last Halloween (www.last-halloween.com)

Hall of Fame Inductees:

Gene Colan

Archie Goodwin


Named for acclaimed comics creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingels, the Awards are in their 4th year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, Comic Creators and Publishers can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators and Fans to decide the winners.

We thank everyone who took the time to vote in the 2013 Awards. The submission process is now open for the 2014 Awards!

We congratulate all of the Winners and Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community. To be nominated by your comic book creating peers is a big honor and the Ghastly Awards are here to celebrate your achievements.

For more information on the Ghastly Awards, or to submit your horror comics for the 2014 Award season please go to www.ghastlyawards.com.


Decapitated Dan, Rachel Deering, Mike Howlett, Belinda “Spaced” McNeill, Lonnie Nadler, Bree Ogden
Steve Banes, Pedro Cabezuelo, Denise Dutton

Founded in 2011 by Decapitated Dan with the help of Steve Banes, Mike Howlett, Lonnie Nadler and Mykal Banta, the Ghastly Awards recognize outstanding achievements in Horror Comics over a range of 15 different categories. The nominees are chosen by other horror comic book professionals and winners are chosen by a panel of judges. Since the start of the awards, 5 more judges have been added into the group.

The Awards were named for acclaimed comics creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingels.
Starting in 2013 the Ghastly Awards switched over to a Submission based process. Comic Publishers and Creators can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators and Fans to decide the winners.

The Ghastly Award Judges work strictly on a volunteer basis. There is no paid staff and the awards are completely funded from the generous donations of its sponsors.

About Denise

Professional nerd. Lover of licorice.
This entry was posted in Awards Season, Comics & Graphic Novels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.