And the 2014 Ghastly Awards winners are…

ghastlyGreat crop of nominees this year, so a great crop of winners. Congratulations to all!

The 2014 Ghastly Award Winners

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the Winners of the 2014 Ghastly Awards. The Ghastly Award Judges chose the Nominees from the books submitted by Comic Creators and Publishers throughout 2014. Winners were voted on by the Judges, Comic Book Creators, Publishers and the Fans. The Ghastly Judicial Panel congratulates all 2014 Winners and Nominees. It is an honor to be recognized by your fellow professionals for such outstanding work in horror comics.

The 2014 Winners are:
Best Ongoing Title

Rachel Rising
(Abstract Studios)

Best Limited Series

Deadworld: Restoration
(IDW Publishing)

Best One-Shot

Edgar Allan Poe’s Morella and the
Murders in the Rue Morgue

(Dark Horse Comics)

Best Anthology

In the Dark
(Tiny Behemoth Press / IDW Publishing)

Best Short Story in an Anthology

Beneath the Surface
(Blokes Terrible Tomb of Terror #10)

Best OGN

Monsters & Other Stories
(Dark Horse Comics

Best Archival Collection

Collection of previously released material / Historical Book on Horror Comics

The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: The Worst of Eerie Publications
(IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)
Best Writer

Terry Moore
(Rachel Rising)

Best Artist

Francesco Francavilla
(Afterlife with Archie)

Best Inker

Mike Wolfer/Dan Parsons
(The Curse of Ragdoll)

Best Letterer

Terry Moore
(Rachel Rising)

Best Colorist

Jay Fotos
(’68 Rule of War, ’68 Homefront, Wraith: Welcome to Christmasland)

Best Web ComicGraveyard Gang
(http://www.thegraveyardgang.comBest Horror Comic CoverFan voting determined the Winner’68 Rule of War #1
(Artist Nat Jones)

Hall of Fame Inductees

Al Hewetson

Jack Davis

Normanton Award Honoree

Presented for their commitment to carrying on the legacy of
Horror Comics for generations to come

Peter Normanton

Decapitated Dan, Mike Howlett, Belinda “Spaced” McNeill, Lonnie Nadler, Bree Ogden,Steve Banes,Denise Dutton, Daniel Viney
Founded in 2011 by Decapitated Dan with the help of Steve Banes, Mike Howlett, Lonnie Nadler and Mykal Banta, the Ghastly Awards recognize outstanding achievements in Horror Comics over a range of 15 different categories. The nominees are chosen by other horror comic book professionals and winners are chosen by a panel of judges.
The Awards were named for acclaimed comics creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingels.
Starting in 2013 the Ghastly Awards switched over to a Submission based process. Comic Publishers and Creators can submit their books for nomination consideration throughout the calendar year. The top five nominees in each category will be chosen by the Judges, and will then be voted on by the Judges, Creators and Fans to decide the winners.
The Ghastly Award Judges work strictly on a volunteer basis. There is no paid staff and the awards are completely funded from the generous donations of its sponsors listed below. Sponsorship does not guarantee, or influence Ghastly Awards Nominations or Winners in any way. Sponsorship is solely used to help raise funds for the Awards and costs of running the Awards on a yearly basis. 

About Denise

Professional nerd. Lover of licorice.
This entry was posted in Awards Season, Comics & Graphic Novels and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.